Tasmanian poet, Tim Thorne, on Friday April 12,  was awarded the 2012 Christopher Brennan Award, a national award given for a lifetime’s achievement in poetry of sustained quality and distinction. 

Thorne is the third Tasmanian to receive the award, which was presented at a ceremony in Melbourne. 

Previous Tasmanian winners were James McAuley and Gwen Harwood.